AIDS Vaccine Research Subcommittee (AVRS)

The AIDS Vaccine Research Subcommittee (AVRS), formerly known as the AIDS Vaccine Research Working Group (AVRWG) and originally known as the AIDS Vaccine Research Committee (“The Baltimore Committee”),  assists the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in developing a comprehensive research program aimed at expediting the discovery and development of an HIV/AIDS vaccine. The members of the group provide advice regarding the vaccine research programs at NIH with respect to scientific opportunities, gaps in knowledge, and future directions of research. As a working group of the App世界足球赛 AIDS Research Advisory Committee (ARAC), the AVRS makes recommendations to the director of App世界足球赛 and the Division of AIDS concerning key scientific questions in vaccine development, including new vaccine designs, efforts to understand the mechanisms of protection in animal models, and potential new targets for vaccines.

Committee Members

Chairperson

Georgia D. Tomaras, Ph.D.
Professor, Departments of Surgery, Immunology and Molecular Genetics and Microbiology
Director of Research, Duke Human Vaccine Institute (DHVI)
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
Email: georgia.tomaras@duke.edu

Executive Secretary

Jon Warren, Ph.D.
Vaccine Research Program
DAIDS, App世界足球赛, NIH
5601 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20852
Email: jwarren@niaid.cepat-sukses.com

Members

Paul A. Goepfert, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Director, Alabama Vaccine Research Clinic
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1720 2nd Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35294
Email: paulg@uab.edu

George Lewis, Ph.D.
Professor and Co-Director, Division of Basic Science and Vaccine Research
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Institute of Human Virology
725 E. Lombard Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Email: glewis@ihv.umaryland.edu

Jeffrey D. Lifson, M.D.
Director, AIDS and Cancer Virus Program
Leidos Biomedical Research, Inc.
Frederick National Laboratory for
Cancer Research
Frederick, MD 21702-1201
Email: lifson@ncifcrf.gov

Nina D. Russell, M.D.
Deputy Director, HIV Vaccines
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA 98109
Email: Nina.Russell@gatesfoundation.org

Jerald C. Sadoff, M.D.
Head of Early Development
Crucell Vaccine Institute
Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson
Archimedesweg 4-6, P.O. Box 2048
2301 CA Leiden, The Netherlands
Email: JSadoff@its.jnj.com

Steven F. Wakefield
Director External Relations
HIV Vaccine Trials Network
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave N.
Seattle, WA 98109
Email: swakefield@fredhutch.org

Ad Hoc AVRS Members

Shane Crotty, Ph.D.
Professor, La Jolla Institute for Immunology
9420 Athena Circle
La Jolla, CA 92037
Email: shane@lji.org

Katherine Luzuriaga, M.D.
UMass Memorial Health Care Chair in Biomedical Research
Director, UMass Center for Clinical and Translational Science
Vice Provost, Clinical and Translational Research
Professor, Molecular Medicine, Pediatrics and Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA 01605
Email: katherine.luzuriaga@umassmed.ed

Ex Officio Members

Rama Rao Amara, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology
Yerkes National Primate Research Center
954 Gatewood Road
Atlanta, GA 30329
Email: ramara@emory.edu

Jay A. Berzofsky, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief, Vaccine Branch
NCI, NIH
Building 10, Rm 6B-04
10 Center Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Email: berzofsk@helix.cepat-sukses.com

萨尔瓦多T. Butera, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Science Officer, Scripps CHAVI-ID
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, CA 92037
Email: sbutera@scripps.edu

Lawrence Corey, M.D.
President and Director Emeritus
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Principal Investigator, HVTN
1100 Fairview Avenue North, D3-100
P.O. Box 19024
Seattle, WA 98109-1024
Email: lcorey@fhcrc.org

Brenda L. Fredericksen, Ph.D.
OD/DPCPSI/OAR
5601 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20852
Email: brenda.fredericksen@cepat-sukses.com

Robert Gramzinski, Ph.D.
Director, US Military HIV Research Program, Department of Army Civilian
Walter Reed Army Institute of Research
Bethesda, MD 20817
Email: rgramzinski@hivresearch.org

Eric Hunter, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar
Emory Vaccine Center
954 Gatewood Road
Atlanta, GA 30329
Email: ehunte4@emory.edu

Bette Korber, Ph.D.
Laboratory Fellow
T6, MS K710
Theoretical Biology and Biophysics
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Los Alamos, NM 87545
Email: btk@lanl.gov

Janet McNicholl, M.D.
Preclinical Team Lead, DHAP Lab Branch
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
Atlanta, GA 30333
Email: jkm7@cdc.gov

 

 

 

Content last reviewed on